The Caribbean is a geographic region containing several territories in and around the Caribbean Sea, a major body of water connected to the Western Atlantic Ocean. Capital: Port au Prince. officially recognized flags of states isolated on white background. Learn all the countries of the Caribbean in this video! Independent countries and dependent territories of the Caribbean. Become a member to unlock this Origin of Caribbean Name. How many independent countries are there in the Caribbean Islands? The mountainous island is about half the size of New Jersey. She holds a Certificate of Advanced Study in Geographic Information Systems (GIS) from California State University. June 10, 2019 - Caribbean News Now - By Oliver Mills The independent English speaking Caribbean states often boast of being free from colonial control, having their own identity, and making their own decisions without being instructed others. It’s no secret that the tourism sector brings in the big bucks for small Caribbean islands. Which Islands Are in the Greater and Lesser Antilles? Aruba This tiny little Caribbean island is actually Dutch (it’s an independent country within the Kingdom of the Netherlands), it was formally part of the Netherlands Antilles, but is now independently viewed as a country. Back to Course. Similar Illustrations See All. Caribbean Independent countries. Area: 10,714 square miles (27,750 sq km) Population: 10,646,714. The Caribbean Islands contain twelve independent countries: Cuba, Jamaica, Haiti, the Dominican Republic, Grenada, Saint Lucia, Saint Kitts and Nevis,... See full answer below. © copyright 2003-2021 Click on an area on the map to answer the questions. national and political identity. Which now independent islands in the Caribbean were once French colonies? Services, Working Scholars® Bringing Tuition-Free College to the Community. Bustamante assumed the title of prime minister.The following year Jamaica joined the International Monetary Fund (IMF). In Sint Maarten, the World Bank manages a reconstruction and resilience trust fund financed by the Netherlands.. The Caribbean archipelago encompasses more than 7,000 individual islands in a region of approximately 1 million square miles. Because most of them are too small to be viable as independent countries. Nicaragua is a Caribbean country. This is an expanse (mostly of ocean) which measures about 1,000 miles (1,600 kilometres) from north to south, and over 2,500 miles (4,000 kilometres) from … answer! Which South American country has the highest East... What are the national symbols of Grenada? Population density is high in Jamaica, especially in its largest cities. The Caribbean countries and territories were heavily colonized by the Spanish, as well as the French, Dutch and British. The entire region is made up of more than 7,000 islands, islets (very small rocky islands), coral reefs, and cays (small, sandy islands above coral reefs). All statistical information comes from the CIA World Factbook. This list of Caribbean countries and dependent territories is sorted by the mid-year normalized demographic projections. Create your account. Haiti is the most mountainous nation in the Caribbean, though its neighboring country, the Dominican Republic, has the tallest peak. The purpose of this website is to outline the countries in the Caribbean who are not yet independent. The West Indies can be taken to mean all the countries in and around the Caribbean Sea that lies within an area that stretches from Grand Bahama Island in the north to Curaçao in the south, and French Guiana in the east to Belize in the west. Popular tourist destinations include the Valley of Desolation and the Boiling Lake. What is the smallest independent island nation in the Caribbean? The Controversy Over Columbus Day Celebrations, Geography of the Windward and Leeward Islands, Geography of the Countries Bordering China, Facts About the Dominican Republic for Spanish Students. The island's terrain is relatively flat. The island features many beaches and harbors. Also, GDP isn’t the only factor to take into consideration when ranking countries from richest to poorest. The International Monetary Fund (IMF) ranks the world’s countries according to purchasing power parity (PPP) per capita which takes into account the relative cost of living and the inflation rates of the countries to compare living standards among the different nations. These independent countries are part of the Caribbean region. Pola Damonte via Getty Images/Getty Images. patriotic vector illustration. There are a wide variety of official and non-official Caribbean country symbols. English was its sole official language until 1995, following the addition of Dutch-speaking Suriname. M.A., Geography, California State University - East Bay, B.A., English and Geography, California State University - Sacramento. and many more dependent [overseas territories]. The population of Dominica is mostly on the coasts, as the island has a volcanic origin. The Caribbean Islands contain twelve independent countries: Cuba, Jamaica, Haiti, the Dominican Republic, Grenada, Saint Lucia, Saint Kitts and Nevis,... Our experts can answer your tough homework and study questions.

independent countries in the caribbean 2021